Although deleting a Facebook account is quite simple to do, it’s important to distinguish between the two different types of account deletions.
The first type is called deactivation. If you choose to deactivate your Facebook account, users won’t be able to search for you, but some of your old info may still be visible to others. This includes things like messages and comments that you’ve sent or posted to another user’s wall. User timeline information including friends, interests, and so on, is saved in case you wish to reactivate your account later.
The second type is called permanent deletion. If you don’t think you’ll be using Facebook again in the future, you can request that your account be permanently and completely erased. Unlike deactivation, your account cannot be reactivated or retrieved in any fashion after permanent deletion.
Before deleting your account, make sure that you’ve saved any photos or data that you would like to keep. Remember that you will lose access to all of your old images and posts once you request that they be deleted. If you’re looking to back up your data before deletion, you can click on the “Download a copy of your Facebook data” link in the Account Settings page.
How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account
If you would like to delete your account permanently, you can head to Delete My Account page and request that your account be deleted.
After filling out the deletion form available on that page, Facebook will ask you for password verification and provide a CAPTCHA security check. Fill in both and select “Okay” and your account will be permanently deleted.
If you’re unable to complete the deletion form at the link provided above, you can also send an email to email@example.com to request that a Facebook representative deletes your account.
Be warned that some identifiable social data may be left behind even after your deletion. You can minimize this effect by first removing permissions that you have granted to apps prior to deleting your account. This will prevent third party apps from trying to contact your page during the deletion process.
In order to revoke permissions that you have granted to third party apps, head to the account settings menu. From there, click on the “Apps” button to see a complete list of the apps that you’ve given permission to, and click on the “X” button next to the app names in order to remove them.